Clear Silverlight Cache


Overview

I recently had an issue where a Silverlight application was acting up on me. It was an application that I was using, not one I’d developed and I really didn’t have much experience with Silverlight at that point. It was working for other people and other browsers on my computer were experiencing the same problem. I’d already cleared the Internet cache multiple times including cookies and other stuff. I applied all the latest patches, hot fixes and service packs as well as updated my browsers to the latest versions. I finally came to the point where I updated Silverlight thinking it could be related to Silverlight itself. None of this solved the problem.

Finally another developer alerted me to the possibility of clearing the Silverlight cache. Now don’t laugh, but I didn’t know that Silverlight had its own cache. I looked online for quite a while on how to clear the Silverlight cache but came up empty. So, I went looking myself. Here’s how you do it.

Clear Silverlight Cache

  1. Open the Microsoft Silverlight shortcut in your start menu.
    • Depending on what version and how you manage your Start Menu, this could be in various places.
    • You could also just click Run or browse to “C:\Program Files\Microsoft Silverlight\{VERSION}\Silverlight.Configuration.exe” where {VERSION} equals the version you have installed. For me, as of writing this article, it was 5.1.20125.0.
  2. You will see the Microsoft Silverlight Configuration application come up.
    • Microsoft Silverlight Configuration
      Microsoft Silverlight Configuration
  3. Click on the Application Storage tab and you will see tab contents like this.
    • Silverlight Application Storage
      Microsoft Silverlight Configuration – Application Storage
  4. Click on a web site you want to clear from cache and click the Delete button, or click the Delete all button to clear all web site data from cache.
  5. Click OK

Summary

Congratulations! You’ve just cleared the Microsoft Silverlight cache on your system. If you have any questions or comments please leave a comment below. Have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Clear Silverlight Cache

  1. I see a lot of interesting content here, i know writing
    articles is time consuming, but i know unlimited source
    of content for your page , just type in google – rewriter creates an unique
    article in a minute

    1. Thanks for the tip. However, all content on my site is related to my own experience with technology. I want the articles to reflect real world experience instead of just random topics. Thank you anyway.

  2. THANK YOU! This was super helpful with a Silverlight based web app. Others on my team had completely rebuild the Windows profile, but thanks to your article I was able to clear the application-specific information and make it work again!

  3. Is there a way to clear the cache from the command line like Java and IE?

    Javaws -uninstall (clears the cache not uninstall the whole program)
    RunDll32.exe InetCpl.cpl,ClearMyTracksByProcess 8

  4. Another quick way is to delete folder under following path (which will eventually clear silverlight cache):
    %userprofile%\AppData\LocalLow\Microsoft\Silverlight\is\

    Your article was helpful. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

