Delete Visual Studio Online Project


Overview
I recently had a project that I wanted to remove from my Visual Studio Online source control system. I hadn’t done this before so I went about attempting to remove the projects via the normal means. Here is how I went about it.

Trial and Error
Naturally I first logged into my Visual Studio Online account, opened the project in the Collection Administration page and searched for some way to delete the project. However, I found that there was no available way to do this.

The next thing I tried is to delete the project from within Visual Studio 2013. I connected to my Visual Studio Online source control system, opened the Source Control Explorer and found that there was an option to right-click the project and select Delete. Of course it wasn’t that easy though. Upon selecting Delete the following error dialog appeared.

Delete Project Error
Error displayed when trying to delete a Visual Studio Online project locally.

Now I’m the administrator of the entire site so I knew permissions weren’t an issue. It also surprised me that there was an option to delete a project from within Visual Studio, but that it wasn’t supported. I tried searching the Visual Studio Online support pages. I did find entries for deleting projects from Visual Studio Online. However, all of them directed me to pages for removing projects from within Visual Studio itself. Then I stumbled upon another article that showed me what I was missing.

How to Delete Projects
It turns out I was actually pretty close the first time. Here is how you delete a project from your Visual Studio Online account.

  1. Login to your Visual Studio Online account (you must be an admin).
  2. Click the gear to the right of your name in the upper-right hand corner.
  3. In the Control Panel page, hover over the project name and then click the 3 dots that appear to the right of the name and select Delete.
  4. Type the name of the project and click the button to confirm.
  5. The dialog will tell you that it will be scheduled for deletion; click the button to close the dialog box.
  6. Click the refresh button on the project list (circular arrow) occasionally to check for when the project has been deleted.

Summary

That’s it! The project has now been deleted. The part I missed was step 4 (right-clicking the project name). It seems silly now that I wouldn’t try that. I guess I don’t generally expect web pages to have right-click functionality. There’s also nothing that I found to indicate that this functionality is available or how to do it. Now you know!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s