Remove Unwanted SameTime Statuses


The IBM® SameTime Connect client allows you to customize the messages that show when you’re in different statuses (e.g. available, away, in a meeting, etc.). However, the interface provides no way to remove any customized messages you’ve created unless you want to “Restore Defaults” and remove all of them.

These messages are stored in a simple XML format so they are easy to edit. When you want to remove a status follow this process.

  1. Open Command Prompt.
  2. Type echo %appdata% and press Enter.
  3. Note this location and use it in place of {ApplicationData} in the path below.
  4. Open Windows Explorer.
  5. Navigate to {ApplicationData}\Lotus\Sametime\.metadata\.plugins\com.ibm.collaboration.realtime.community.sametime
  6. Edit the community-config.xml file in a text-only editor such as Notepad.
    1. As always, if the file is important create a backup first.
  7. Delete the entire line corresponding to the message you wish to delete.
  8. Save the file.
  9. Exit and Restart SameTime.

Note: You should only use a text-only editor like Notepad. Editors like Microsoft Word add formatting and control information to the file. This could inadvertently cause the application to consider it corrupted.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s